HISTELEC NEWS SUPPLEMENT – APPENDIX 3

AREAS NEVER SUPPLIED BY CORNWALL ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY

ST. AUSTELL

- 1888 Veale & Co Ltd obtained ELO 1884 and commenced supply at 220/110v DC from works in the town (SX 012526), but ceased in 1903.
- 1904 Undertaking acquired from the United Kingdom Tramway Light Railway & Electrical Syndicate by the St. Austell & D.E.L & P.Co. Ltd., formed in 1901. They had obtained the ELO 1901, which covered the St. Austell Urban & Rural Council areas and the borough of Fowey
- 1927 Pontsmill Generating Station (SX 07405573), AC 50 cycles, and 11kV line to town, which was gradually changed to AC 11kV line to Fowey and system slowly extended.
- 1935 Bulk supply from CEPCo, Fraddon to Trerice S/S,
- 1948 The St. Austell company became South Cornwall District under the Manager of Cornwall Sub Area of SWEB. BEA took over Pontsmill, soon closing and dismantling it.

MEVAGISSEY

- 1896 Non-statutory supply commenced from West Quay (SX 015447) at 220v DC. The public lighting was the first in Cornwall.
- 1907 Mevagissey ESCo Ltd formed to take over the assets from the Liquidator. Voltage changed to 230v 3-wire DC. Special Order 1933 obtained by local council to safeguard the undertaking.
- 1934 The company acquired by the St. Austell & D.E.L & P. Co., who built an 11kV line to the village, converted the network to 415/240v and closed the station.

BUDE

Bude and the rest of the Rural district of Stratten & Holsworthy were excluded from the powers of the Cornwall Electric Power Act 1902 in Clause 36.

- 1898 Some residents tried to raise interest in a supply but failed.
- 1903 Mr. Keat, a previous objector, supplied a few neighbours.
- 1905 Christy Bros interested and obtained the ELO 1906.
- 1907 Bude ESCo Ltd formed by Christy Bros and ELO 1906 passed to them. Generating Staflon built in Burn View and supply at 200/400~ 3-wire DC:
- 1930 Decision to convert to AC 50 cycles and expand by 11kV lines. Alternator set added,
- 1931 West Devon ESCo Ltd, also in Christy group, take over and install second alternator set,
- 1932 11kV line from Okehampton to Tavistock.
- 1934 Hydro-stations at Morwellham and Mary Tavy Hillbridge on to 11kV system, which reached Bude in 1936 and where a third alternator set was added.
- 1937 Mary Tavy Wheal Jewel Hydro-station on 11kV network.
- 1948 The West Devon ESCo., became the West Devon District of the Devon Sub Area of SWEB, less Tavistock, which went into the Plymouth District. Bude Generating Station closed and dismantled after Bude 33/11kV S/S had been built by SWEB.

FALMOUTH

- 1903 The Borough of Falmouth obtained the ELO 1903, covering the whole of the borough, but decided not to own their own undertaking.
- 1904 The Electric Supply Corporation Ltd took over the ELO 1903 with a clause in the Agreement that all the town refuse was to he burnt as fuel.
- 1906 Electricity Works on Beacon Hill commenced supply. Two boilers, one with grate for refuse. Two Belliss & Morcom 120kW dynamo sets. Supply at 460/230v DC to town by 3-core cables. Proposal for electric buses on tyres not accepted.
- 1919 Second boiler with refuse grate added.
- Bulk supply from CEPCo's Falmouth 33/11kv S/S to new substation at Park Terrace, from which they built an 11kVring to three substations and a spur to Works transformer. The network was converted to 400/230v AC. Two 120kW alternators were fitted on the Belliss & Morcom sets with relays for running in parallel with CEPCo.
- 1948 The Showroom and network came under the Manager of the Central Cornwall District. The BEA took over the Works and stopped generation in 1951 after paying the Borough £17,000 to buy out the remaining period of the contract for refuse disposal. The site then taken over by SWEB and remained as store and report centre, but recently cleared and sold for residential purposes.

ST. MARY'S, ISLES OF SCILLY

The St. Mary's (Scilly) ESCo Ltd was registered in 1931 by Mr.E.C. Sydney, who had also been managing director of the Mevagissey company. The undertaking was taken over by SWEB and came under the District Manager, West Cornwall, on 1st April 1958.

HISTELEC NEWS SUPPLEMENT – APPENDIX 4

STAFF - MANAGEMENT & ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

The staff from 1902 have already been mentioned in the earlier chapters.

- 1932 Change of Frequency section set up in Bennett's former works at Roskear. Mr. R. McFarlane joins that section.
- 1934 Mr. D.H. Kendon as Deputy Engineer & Manager
- 1935 Mr. L.A. Hards retired, Mr. Kendon as Manager and Mr. A.C. Owen as Engineer. Mr. Bennett was Commercial Manager and Mr, S. Smith. Chief Accountant.
- 1936 Bennett's works had been vacated and general increase in staff at Carn Brea necessitated building 3-storey wing at rear after demolition of boiler-house stack. Engine-room became Substation and transformer store. The Boiler-house, became the Garage and floor added above, with vehicle ramp from yard, housed Fitters Carpenters and Cooker Section, Canteen built on North Crofty burrow.
- 1938 Mr. Kendon moved to Shropshire, Worcester & Staffordshire Company. Mr. Owen became Manager and Mr. Bailey from Head Office the Engineer.
- 1939 Mr. G. Richards to Newquay as District Manager. Mr.R.G. Sandercock to Hayle Generating Station. A number of employees called up by RNVR, TA & RAFVR and others for national service.
- 1939 Mr.Bennett retired and Mr. G. Richards as Commercial Manager. Two Engineers for regional maintenance duties Mr. McDonald to western area,
- 1946 Mr. Thompson to central area and Mr.O.Dring the eastern area. Two outposted Engineers Mr. R. Symons Liskeard; Mr.Timberlake Penzance and Mr. H. Mitchell continued in Camborne & Redruth. Mr.L.F. Weir to Hayle as Control Engineer.
- 1947 Mr.Bailey left to join Ewbank & Partners, formed by Mr. C.H.P.Ewbank, Chief Engineer of Edmundsons as consultants. They became Consulting Engineers to Edmundsons by an Agreement dated 30.10.46. Mr. N.R.C. White appointed Engineer and Mr.L.F. Weir the Deputy. Mr. McFarlane moved to the East Anglian Company and Mr. L. Locker appointed as Substation Engineer 1948. 1st April. Mr. A.C. Owen as Manager, Cornwall Sub Area and Miss Gribble his Secretary. Mr. C. Richards, Sub Area Commercial Officer and Mr. S. Smith, Sub Area Accountant, soon to retire and be succeeded by Mr. R. Gilliam. Mr. H.R.C. White to District Manager, West Cornwall, and Mr. L.F. Weir now Sub Area Engineer and Mr.L.Locker Deputy. (Manager East Cornwall 1951). Mr.H.S. Sowell Overhead Line Construction & Transport. Mr. Jock Emslie Underground Mains. Mr. J. Pengelly Planning Mr.F.Ripper Meter Room, Mr. C.T. Cook Draughtsman, Mr. E. Holliday Wayleave Officer, Mr. Dovey Garage & Yard Foreman. Miss.M.Thomas Senior Typist. 0/H Line Gangs Foremen, Mr. E. Wallace, Mr.W.Jose, Mr.J.Hollow, Mr.A.Horwell & Mr D. Hollow. U/G Cable Gang Mr.J.Chivell. Senior Jointer Mr.H.Chappel. Fitters Mr. H.Barker, Mr. W.Martin & Mr.J.Williams. Senior Carpenter Mr. F. Dunstan
- 1951 Cornwall Sub Area divided into five Districts, each with District Manager and District Engineer, District Commercial Engineer & District Senior Clerk. Mr.C.M.Isherwood Deputy Sub Area Engineer.